Brand: Roc

Product Code: 9780451462817

Availability:Out of stock

$9.99 9.99
Biographical Note:
A martial arts enthusiast whose résumé includes a long list of skills rendered obsolete at least two hundred years ago, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jim Butcher turned to writing as a career because anything else probably would have driven him insane. He lives mostly inside his own head so that he can write down the conversation of his imaginary friends, but his head can generally be found in Independence, Missouri. Jim is the author of the Dresden Files, the Codex Alera novels, and the Cinder Spires series, which began with The Aeronaut's Windlass.


Review Quotes:
Praise for the Dresden Files

"Think Buffy the Vampire Slayer starring Philip Marlowe."-- Entertainment Weekly

"Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this series."-- Midwest Book Review

"Superlative."-- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"One of the most enjoyable marriages of the fantasy and mystery genres on the shelves."-- Cinescape

"Butcher...spins an excellent noirish detective yarn in a well-crafted, supernaturally-charged setting. The supporting cast is again fantastic, and Harry's wit continues to fly in the face of a peril-fraught plot."-- Booklist (starred review)

"What's not to like about this series?...It takes the best elements of urban fantasy, mixes it with some good old-fashioned noir mystery, tosses in a dash of romance and a lot of high-octane action, shakes, stirs, and serves."-- SF Site

"A tricky plot complete with against-the-clock pacing, firefights, explosions, and plenty of magic. Longtime series fans as well as newcomers drawn by the SciFi Channel's TV series based on the novels should find this supernatural mystery a real winner."-- Library Journal

"What would you get if you crossed Spenser with Merlin? Probably you would come up with someone very like Harry Dresden, wizard, tough guy and star of [the Dresden Files]."-- The Washington Times


Publisher Marketing:
Jim Butcher's breakthrough #1 New York Times bestseller starring Chicago's only professional wizard, Harry Dresden.

When it comes to the magical ruling body known as the White Council, Harry is thought of as either a black sheep or a sacrificial lamb. And none hold him in more disdain than Morgan, a veteran Warden with a grudge against anyone who bends the rules. But now, Morgan is in trouble. He's been accused of cold-blooded murder--a crime with only one, final punishment.

He's on the run, wanting his name cleared, and he needs someone with a knack for backing the underdog. So it's up to Harry to uncover a traitor within the Council, keep Morgan under wraps, and avoid coming under scrutiny himself. And a single mistake may cost someone his head.

Someone like Harry...


Review Citations:
  • Publishers Weekly 02/23/2009 pg. 39 (EAN 9780451462565, Hardcover)
  • Booklist 03/01/2009 pg. 6 (EAN 9780451462565, Hardcover)
  • Romantic Times 04/01/2009 pg. 100 (EAN 9780451462565, Hardcover)
  • Library Journal 04/01/2009 pg. 72 (EAN 9780451462565, Hardcover)