Brand: Graphix

Product Code: 9780439706407

Availability:Out of stock

$12.99 12.99
Brief Description:
The BONE adventures tell the story of a young bone boy, Fone Bone, and his two cousins, Phoney Bone and Smiley Bone, who are banned from their homeland of Boneville. When the cousins find themselves mysteriously trapped in a wonderful but often terrifying land filled with secrets and danger - and special new friendships - they are soon caught up in adventures beyond their wildest dreams. In OUT FROM BONEVILLE, the three Bone cousins are separated and lost in a vast uncharted desert. One by one, they find their way into a deep, forested valley where they come face to face with...


Brief Description:
Originally published in the comic book Bone.


Brief Description:
The adventures and misadventures of the three Bone cousins, Fone, Smiley, and Phoney.


Biographical Note:
Jeff Smith is the creator of the award-winning, New York Times bestselling BONE series. He was born and raised in the American Midwest and learned about cartooning from comic strips, comic books, and TV animation. Visit him online at www.boneville.com.


Review Quotes:
"Charming, character-driven fantasy with an elegant design and masterful story-telling in the tradition of Walt Kelly, Charles Schulz and Carl Barks." -- PW

"Like Pogo, BONE has whimsy best appreciated by adults, yet kids can enjoy it, too; and like Barks' Disney Duck stories, BONE moves from brash humor to gripping adventure in a single panel." -- ALA Booklist

"Bone has the multi-level writing and artwork of the best Chuck Jones cartoons or early Disney movies. It's overflowing with subtext about conflicting philosophies of power, cultural imperialism and political responsibility - though not enough to get in the way of its silly fun." - CMJ New Music Monthly

"One of the best kid's comics ever." - Vibe Magazine

"...Sprawling, mythic comic is spectacular." - Spin Magazine

" I love BONE! BONE is great!" - Matt Groening

"Jeff Smith can pace a joke better than almost anyone in comics; his dialogue is delightful -- so are all his people, not to mention his animals, his villains, and even his bugs." -- Neil Gaiman


Publisher Marketing:
The first book in Jeff Smith's New York Times bestselling, award-winning graphic novel series featuring an unlikely hero who must save an idyllic valley from the forces of evil.

After being run out of Boneville, the three Bone cousins -- Fone Bone, Phoney Bone, and Smiley Bone -- are separated and lost in a vast, uncharted desert. One by one, they find their way into a deep, forested valley filled with wonderful and terrifying creatures. Eventually, the cousins are reunited at a farmstead run by tough Gran'ma Ben and her spirited granddaughter, Thorn. But little do the Bones know, there are dark forces conspiring against them and their adventures are only just beginning!


Review Citations:
  • School Library Journal 05/01/2005 pg. 164 (EAN 9780439706407, Paperback)
  • Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2005 pg. 324 (EAN 9780439706407, Paperback)
  • Publishers Weekly 02/07/2005 pg. 44 (EAN 9780439706407, Paperback) - *Starred Review
  • Kliatt 03/01/2005 pg. 31 (EAN 9780439706407, Paperback) - *Starred Review
  • Wilson Children's Catalog 04/11/2019 (EAN 9780439706407, Paperback)
  • Wilson Graphic Novels Catalog 04/11/2019 (EAN 9780439706407, Paperback)
  • Wilson Middle/Jr. High Catalog 04/11/2019 (EAN 9780439706407, Paperback)
  • Criticas 06/01/2007 pg. 1 (EAN 9781594972973, Hardcover)
  • School Library Journal 05/01/2005 pg. 164 (EAN 9780439706230, Hardcover)
  • Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2005 pg. 324 (EAN 9780439706230, Hardcover)
  • Publishers Weekly 02/07/2005 pg. 44 (EAN 9780439706230, Hardcover) - *Starred Review
  • Wilson Children's Catalog 04/11/2019 (EAN 9780439706230, Hardcover)
  • Wilson Graphic Novels Catalog 04/11/2019 (EAN 9780439706230, Hardcover)
  • Wilson Middle/Jr. High Catalog 04/11/2019 (EAN 9780439706230, Hardcover)
  • Booklist 08/01/1995 pg. 1922 (EAN 9780963660992, Hardcover)
  • Booklist 02/01/2004 pg. 985 (EAN 9780963660947, Paperback)