Brand: Puffin Books

Product Code: 9780142400654

Availability:Out of stock

$6.99 6.99
Brief Description:
In 1896 the Great Brain of Adenville, Utah, is almost twelve years old and more mischievous than ever in his practical jokes and schemes against everyone in town.


Brief Description:
Originally published: New York: Dial Books for Young Readers, 1969.


Biographical Note:
John D. Fitzgerald was born in Utah and lived there until he left at eighteen to begin a series of interesting careers ranging from jazz drummer to foreign correspondent. His stories of The Great Brain were based on his own childhood in Utah with a conniving older brother named Tom. These reminiscenses led to eight memorable Great Brain books. John D. Fitzgerald also wrote several best-selling adult books, including Papa Married a Mormon. He died in Florida, his home of many years, at the age of eighty-one.


Marc Notes:
Originally published: New York: Dial Books for Young Readers, 1969.;In 1896 the Great Brain of Adenville, Utah, is almost twelve years old and more mischievous than ever in his practical jokes and schemes against everyone in town.


Review Quotes:
* [The Great Brain] emerges as possibly the youngest, and certainly one of the most engaging, con men in print!"-- School Library Journal


Publisher Marketing:
This second book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Has Tom, a.k.a. the Great Brain, given up his con-artist ways for a bicycle? Not for long. Soon the Great Brain is back to his old tricks, swindling and trading, and even convincing the whole town there's a prehistoric monster on the loose. But when someone robs the bank, even the police are stumped. Can the Great Brain solve the crime and put the crooks behind bars?