Brand: Roc

Product Code: 9780451463470

Availability:Out of stock

$9.99 9.99
Brief Description:
Arianna Ortega, Duchess of the vampiric Red Court, discovers the secret being kept by Harry Dresden's ex-lover, Susan Rodriguez, leaving Harry with no choice but to tap into his own dark power and fight to save the world.


Biographical Note:
A martial arts enthusiast whose résumé includes a long list of skills rendered obsolete at least two hundred years ago, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jim Butcher turned to writing as a career because anything else probably would have driven him insane. He lives mostly inside his own head so that he can write down the conversation of his imaginary friends, but his head can generally be found in Independence, Missouri. Jim is the author of the Dresden Files, the Codex Alera novels, and the Cinder Spires series, which began with The Aeronaut's Windlass.


Marc Notes:
Reprint. Originally published: c2010.;A ROC book.;Arianna Ortega, Duchess of the vampiric Red Court, discovers the secret being kept by Harry Dresden's ex-lover, Susan Rodriguez, leaving Harry with no choice but to tap into his own dark power and fight to save the world.


Review Quotes:
Praise for the Dresden Files

"Think Buffy the Vampire Slayer starring Philip Marlowe."-- Entertainment Weekly

"Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this series."-- Midwest Book Review

"Superlative."-- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"One of the most enjoyable marriages of the fantasy and mystery genres on the shelves."-- Cinescape

"Butcher...spins an excellent noirish detective yarn in a well-crafted, supernaturally-charged setting. The supporting cast is again fantastic, and Harry's wit continues to fly in the face of a peril-fraught plot."-- Booklist (starred review)

"What's not to like about this series?...It takes the best elements of urban fantasy, mixes it with some good old-fashioned noir mystery, tosses in a dash of romance and a lot of high-octane action, shakes, stirs, and serves."-- SF Site

"A tricky plot complete with against-the-clock pacing, firefights, explosions, and plenty of magic. Longtime series fans as well as newcomers drawn by the SciFi Channel's TV series based on the novels should find this supernatural mystery a real winner."-- Library Journal

"What would you get if you crossed Spenser with Merlin? Probably you would come up with someone very like Harry Dresden, wizard, tough guy and star of [the Dresden Files]."-- The Washington Times


Publisher Marketing:
"A can't-miss entry in one of the best urban-fantasy series currently being published."--Booklist (starred review)

As Chicago's only professional wizard, Harry Dresden has faced demons, vampires, werewolves, dark sorcerers, and hosts of horrors from beyond the mortal realm. But nothing could have prepared him for this...

Long ago, Susan Rodriguez was Harry's Dresden's lover--until she was attacked by his enemies, leaving her caught between humanity and the relentless bloodlust of the vampiric Red Court. She disappeared to South America, where she could fight both her savage gift and those who cursed her with it. Now, she needs Harry's help more than ever.

For the vengeful Duchess of the Red Court has discovered a secret Susan has long kept from everyone--including Harry--and she plans to use it. To prevail, Harry may have to unleash the full fury of his untapped power--and he may have no choice but to embrace the darkness within himself.

Because this time, he's fighting to save his child.


Review Citations:
  • Library Journal 08/01/2010 pg. 38 (EAN 9780143145349, Compact Disc) - *Starred Review
  • Publishers Weekly 02/15/2010 pg. 120 (EAN 9780451463173, Hardcover)
  • Booklist 03/01/2010 pg. 4 (EAN 9780451463173, Hardcover) - *Starred Review
  • Romantic Times 04/01/2010 pg. 99 (EAN 9780451463173, Hardcover)
  • Shelf Awareness 01/01/0001 (EAN 9780451463173, Hardcover)