Brand: Graphix

Product Code: 9780545942164

Availability:Out of stock

$24.99 24.99
Brief Description:
"Clay has lived his whole life under the mountain. The MudWing dragonet knows war is raging between the dragon tribes in the world outside- a war that he and four other dragonets are destined to end, according to the mysterious prophecy they have been taught. The five "chosen" dragonets were stolen from their homes while they were still in their eggs, and hidden away for years, all to fulfill the prophecy. But not every dragonet wants a destiny. And when danger threatens one of their own, Clay and his friends may choose freedom over fate ... leave the mountain ... and set the dragon world on a course that no one could have predicted"--Jacket.

Biographical Note:
Tui T. Sutherland is the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Wings of Fire series, the Menagerie trilogy, and the Pet Trouble series, as well as a contributing author to the bestselling Spirit Animals and Seekers series (as part of the Erin Hunter team). In 2009, she was a two-day champion on Jeopardy! She lives in Massachusetts with her wonderful husband, two adorable sons, and two very patient dogs. To learn more about Tui's books, visit her online at

Mike Holmes has drawn for the comics series Bravest Warriors and Adventure Time and is the creator of the art project Mikenesses. His books include titles in the Secret Coders (written by Gene Luen Yang) and Animal Crackers series, as well as the True Story collection. He lives in Philadelphia with his wife Meredith, Heidi the dog, and Ella the cat.

Review Quotes:
Praise for The Dragonet Prophecy (Wings of Fire, Book 1):

Dramatic battle scenes, double-crosses, and one seriously deranged queen makes WINGS OF FIRE a series that should have broad appeal for middle-grade fantasy fans. -- Booklist

Fast-paced and detailed, this first installment in a new adventure series is entertaining. -- Kirkus Reviews

Readers of all ages will be enchanted by the humanistic storyline and the page-turning excitement. -- Library Media Connection

A thrilling new series for dragon-lovers. -- Austin Family

Publisher Marketing:
Not every dragonet wants a destiny . . .

Clay has grown up under the mountain, chosen along with four other dragonets to fulfill a mysterious prophecy and end the war between the dragon tribes of Pyrrhia. He's not so sure about the prophecy part, but Clay can't imagine not living with the other dragonets; they're his best friends.

So when one of the dragonets is threatened, all five spring into action. Together, they will choose freedom over fate, leave the mountain, and fulfill their destiny -- on their own terms.

The New York Times bestselling Wings of Fire series takes flight in this first graphic novel edition, adapted by the author with art by Mike Holmes.

Review Citations:
  • Kirkus Reviews 12/15/2017 pg. 156 (EAN 9780545942164, Hardcover) - *Starred Review
  • School Library Journal 02/01/2018 pg. 88 (EAN 9780545942164, Hardcover)
  • Wilson Graphic Novels Catalog 04/11/2019 (EAN 9780545942164, Hardcover)
  • Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2018 pg. 95 (EAN 9780545942164, Hardcover)
  • Kirkus Reviews 12/15/2017 pg. 156 (EAN 9780545942157, Paperback) - *Starred Review
  • School Library Journal 02/01/2018 pg. 88 (EAN 9780545942157, Paperback)
  • Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2018 pg. 95 (EAN 9780545942157, Paperback)